Tiny dots around small engraved areas

Toasty

Tiny dots around small engraved areas

Post by Toasty »

Hey all! I have been using my converted K40 for over three years now and I've had great luck with it.

Since it was new I've had one little issue that's a bit annoying. When I engrave small areas, like text for example, I get faint tiny dots around some of the letters from time to time. The only material I really notice it on is black engravable plastic. I assume the black absorbs more laser light and makes the problem more obvious. It seems to happen more on thin vertical lines more than something like a fat line. I had originally thought it was just hot material landing back on the plastic and pitting it up a bit but in all my years of engraving I've never seen that before. I'm assuming it's some sort of beam scatter or interference (bad ground?) causing it. It appears to happen more when the beam has to fire and shut off quickly for a thin vertical line.

I did put an extra ground on the case recently and that seemed to help some. Hard to say because the problem seems to come and go anyway.

Would the PWM frequency setting have anything to do with an issue like this? Mine is currently set to 20000 in LaserCad.

Thanks for any help.
Toasty

Re: Tiny dots around small engraved areas

Post by Toasty »

No one has ever had this problem? Hmmm. Well, maybe it is just the material splattering back down on to the plastic and causing the dots. I'll try to get a picture of it the next time it happens.
Tech_Marco

Post by Tech_Marco »

May be you should post a picture or video to show the dots... I couldn't get a picture in my mind of how dots did you get from the engraving. I think seeing is better.

Marco
Toasty

Post by Toasty »

Hey Marco!

I should have uploaded a picture in the first place. Here's one.

Keep in mind that these dots are very small, the picture makes them look big since it's zoomed in so far.
extra dots.jpg